Drum & Bass Arena
  • Home
  • Music
  • Download
  • Merchandise
  • Forum
  • Blog
  • Awards
Forums Register Login Profile Inbox Address Book My Subscription My Forums Photo Gallery Member List Search Calendars FAQ Ticket List Logout

Job offer advice

 
Logged in as: Guest
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [D&B Music] >> [Default Category] >> Drum&Bass >> Job offer advice Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:37:02 PM   
mistayif
 

Status: offline
i've been looking for a new job for a while now and i've just been sent through an offer for a junior accounts assistant position but i'm not sure whether to take it or not as it seems very strange.

so a couple days ago, i receive an email in my hotmail which was actually flagged as junk that this company found my details on jobsite.co.uk and that my profile fits the requirements for one of their vacancies and that i should apply. so i check out their website www.inovicllc.com, and it looks legit enough.

so i send a reply saying i'm interested and to give me more info, the woman sends through an application form today to which i fill out and email back along with a copy of my cv.

i've just received an email back from them saying their hr department has approved my application and that i will be offered a position to start immediately, no interview, seems very strange to me. looking around on google, i can find no other info for that company. it just seems so strange that a company can offer a position without even an interview or knowing who i am and for there to be literally no information about them on the internet apart from their website. what do you lot think? sound like a scam?

< Message edited by mistayif -- 28/6/2012 7:43:15 PM >
Post #: 1
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:41:59 PM   
DJ_H20
 

Status: offline
Doing what?from home?do the have a premises?if so google street view?
Post #: 2
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:43:08 PM   
STIMPY
 

Status: offline
They do seem pretty dodgy
Post #: 3
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:45:11 PM   
ClarenceBoddicker
 

Status: offline
Sounds legit, go for it!
Post #: 4
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:45:20 PM   
mistayif
 

Status: offline
i mite give them a call tomoro and see what they're saying
Post #: 5
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:47:36 PM   
ClarenceBoddicker
 

Status: offline
They will probably pay your salary by Western Union, well once you wire them a little good faith money of course
Post #: 6
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 7:52:33 PM   
RunUp
 

Status: offline
Take advice from people who are either broke, jobless or drug addicts?

You've come to the right place.
Post #: 7
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:14:03 PM   
ChunkyMunky
 

Status: offline
Lol at thinking about taking a job from a company you've never heard of, who didn't even interview you
Post #: 8
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:15:05 PM   
Spherical
let me just google that for you
 

Status: offline
The 'Careers' section does list the job you mention, but it's also worded in very broken English.

See if you can find a username + p/w for a company such as www.riskdisk.co.uk which provide access to all business files registered at Companies House (which by UK law, all UK companies are required to file their accounts annually).

The information provided lists things such as Net Worth/Turnover/No. of Employees/Avg. Employee Renumeration/Director's current appointments (lists business he/she is currently listed as the director of) etc. etc.

From that you should be able to see if their business is as good as they it is.
Post #: 9
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:16:16 PM   
PapaJaro
 

Status: online
I only apply for jobs I see advertised on gumtree..
Post #: 10
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:33:26 PM   
mistayif
 

Status: offline
fuck it, its definitely a scam, they just sent me through a form to provide my bank details
Post #: 11
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:34:23 PM   
Mod X
Ghostbuster
 

Status: offline
100% legit. See if they'll give you six jobs.
Post #: 12
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:45:32 PM   
2ndPhase
 

Status: offline
They will rape you.
Post #: 13
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 8:53:17 PM   
darkmatter
 

Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: mistayif

fuck it, its definitely a scam, they just sent me through a form to provide my bank details


I was about to say you'll find out soon enough if you check what other info they ask you for... but you got there first

My mate once replied to an ad on gumtree, turned out the guy wanted a sex slave, she humoured him for a few emails and he kindly sent her a photo of his penis. It doesn't pay the bills but it's quite a nice gesture.
Post #: 14
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 9:01:44 PM   
mistayif
 

Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: darkmatter

quote:

ORIGINAL: mistayif

fuck it, its definitely a scam, they just sent me through a form to provide my bank details


I was about to say you'll find out soon enough if you check what other info they ask you for... but you got there first

My mate once replied to an ad on gumtree, turned out the guy wanted a sex slave, she humoured him for a few emails and he kindly sent her a photo of his penis. It doesn't pay the bills but it's quite a nice gesture.


haha, i remember that a couple years ago in the production forum
Post #: 15
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 10:00:56 PM   
Nugz
 

Status: offline
for future reference LLCs dont exist in the UK and there are cheaper places for US companies to get their overseas labour
Post #: 16
RE: Job offer advice - 28/6/2012 10:24:34 PM   
HM1HM1
 

Status: offline
http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=16+Brune+Street,+London+E1+7NJ&hl=en&ll=51.517997,-0.074608&spn=0.006663,0.021136&safe=off&hnear=16+Brune+St,+London+E1+7NJ,+United+Kingdom&t=m&z=16&layer=c&cbll=51.51795,-0.075057&panoid=JqBgHNQfTs0Aqb9QXd5tZg&cbp=12,339.99,,0,-1.92



You gonna get raped m8
Post #: 17
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 11:12:48 AM   
**gutlessrhyme**
 

Status: offline
Has anyone EVER employed a stranger for a serious job without interviewing them? Probably not
Post #: 18
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 11:17:21 AM   
Joey Gunz
 

Status: online
quote:

ORIGINAL: **gutlessrhyme**

Has anyone EVER employed a stranger for a serious job without interviewing them? Probably not


Yes, my old man, employed a lorry driver for us without ever even meeting him, he's a shit prick.
Post #: 19
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 11:22:10 AM   
frizzyd
JILL 4EVA <3
 

Status: offline
Bizarre how they've gone to effort of creating a reasonably professional looking website but then not got someone to properly copy read it and lose all the broken English and poor grammar.

Should have PM'd Rhys, he would have sorted them out, could be a nice little sideline for him, head to Thamesmead and flog his services to Nigerians for their various scams!
Post #: 20
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 11:24:35 AM   
Tropical Wilson
 

Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Spherical

The 'Careers' section does list the job you mention, but it's also worded in very broken English.

See if you can find a username + p/w for a company such as www.riskdisk.co.uk which provide access to all business files registered at Companies House (which by UK law, all UK companies are required to file their accounts annually).

The information provided lists things such as Net Worth/Turnover/No. of Employees/Avg. Employee Renumeration/Director's current appointments (lists business he/she is currently listed as the director of) etc. etc.

From that you should be able to see if their business is as good as they it is.


Use Duedil instead of Companies House. All free
Post #: 21
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 11:28:22 AM   
scotteo
 

Status: offline


Well, I don't know. What are the hours?
Post #: 22
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 12:41:03 PM   
mistayif
 

Status: offline
ok, so i've had another reply from them saying what i will be doing.

post ideas of scams/jokes things i can try and fleece them for
Post #: 23
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 12:48:13 PM   
frizzyd
JILL 4EVA <3
 

Status: offline
This site is your friend: http://www.419eater.com/
Post #: 24
RE: Job offer advice - 29/6/2012 12:56:20 PM   
NoSeBag.v2
has an affinity for poo
 

Status: offline
quote:

ORIGINAL: Spherical

The 'Careers' section does list the job you mention, but it's also worded in very broken English.

See if you can find a username + p/w for a company such as www.riskdisk.co.uk which provide access to all business files registered at Companies House (which by UK law, all UK companies are required to file their accounts annually).

The information provided lists things such as Net Worth/Turnover/No. of Employees/Avg. Employee Renumeration/Director's current appointments (lists business he/she is currently listed as the director of) etc. etc.

From that you should be able to see if their business is as good as they it is.



Great advice
Post #: 25
RE: Job offer advice - 30/6/2012 12:14:58 AM   
Goodone
 

Status: offline
Just pick up the phone and confirm the job description... Make sure you ask "is it live yeah" Never fails...  
Post #: 26
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [D&B Music] >> [Default Category] >> Drum&Bass >> Job offer advice Page: [1]
Jump to:


Users viewing this topic: none

Downloads

Visit Drum&Bass Arena Download
We Can Do
We Can Do (Dub Mix)
Sound Advice
Sound Advice (EZ Rollers Remix)
Forget Me Knots (Bailey Remix)
Sound Advice
Keep Strong
Die Job Da (Instrumental) (Original Mix)
No Money No Job (Original Mix)
They Took'r Jobs
Need A Job
Jobsworth
Nasty Predicament
Hand Job
Skin Job




New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts