Helpful ReplyHot![FAQ][FAQ] GYM THREAD

Page: << < ..291292293294295 Showing page 295 of 295
Author
Travs
  • Total Posts : 290
Re: [FAQ] GYM THREAD 2017/08/11 12:17:15 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Shiverman 2017/08/11 12:20:12
Shiverman
Got my first ever competitive race on sunday (14km) and I've completely pulled my hamstring and my calf has seized up. Hopefully be alright but be a bit pissed off considering I've been building up to it for 3 months.

Any tips Travs? Been foam rolling, stretching with a band and icing it. Reckon I'll just bosh a load of ibuprofen for the race and then sit with it in a bucket of ice water afterwards

Ice would be my first priority. Before and after the race.

By all means whack a few painkillers if you are completely committed to the race and not too bothered that you may do some more damage during the race, therefore increasing the recovery time after. I've certainly done it before. I was in a similar position before a 45mile race a couple of months back, and there was no way I was going to drop out.

I'd also advise that if/when you do a warm up, don't go overboard doing static stretches in an attempt to loosen it up. Just do whatever you would usually do, or have an easy jog and then a few little faster sprints to get the heart rate up.
Shiverman
  • Total Posts : 10825
Re: [FAQ] GYM THREAD 2017/08/11 12:20:08 (permalink)
Nice one. Yeah I think I've ended up making it worse with the stretching tbh. I base that on no evidence.
Travs
Re: [FAQ] GYM THREAD 2017/08/11 12:23:59 (permalink)
I find that stretching doesn't really work if you are not fully warm. If you loosen up with running, sprints, hops, whaetever, there's probably no need for stretching before a run/race... as you say, it can make things worse.